Part of me can’t believe that it has been 8 weeks already, while the another part of me feels that it must be longer. I am doing fantastic, and so far, I could not be happier with how things are going. I seen my surgeon earlier in the week, but didn’t have time to post an update because I was swamped in end-of-semester schoolwork. BUT, the semester is now over and I’m free until September! So here’s an update of life lately:

EATING AND DIET

I am shocked at how quickly eating is returning to normal. I am so lucky. I’ve been cleared to chew anything at all by my surgeon. I am eating anything I can chew without serious pain, and anything I can fit into my mouth. Some hard and chewy foods do cause some discomfort, but I try to power through them; the quicker I get my jaw and facial muscles used to woking hard again, the better. I had my first  burger AND first steak this week- I did not think I would be eating these things at 8 weeks! Also, biting into food feels AMAZING. I never realized how much my bite was messing up how I eat- it is so much easier biting into things now!!

I still have my surgical hooks on the bottom, so eating is still annoying because a lot of food gets stuck in those little bastards, but overall, I’m just happy to be chewing.

I’m still tracking the food that I am eating because it can be challenging to get enough food/nutrients in to keep adding weight/muscle back on while my body is healing. However, my weight is pretty much back to normal 🙂

PHYSICAL ACTIVITY

I am still working at getting my full strength back but it’s coming along pretty well. I definitely feel as good (or better) as I did before surgery! I would say within the next couple months I will be back to normal.

SWELLING, NUMBNESS, ETC

Swelling is barely noticeable but I would say there is about 5-10% left in my cheeks. They still feel a tad bit puffy at times but nothing serious. I expect it will be completely gone by 6 months.

The incision sites are fairly gross to look at because I can tell how wide open they had me cut, but those have been healed for quite a while now.

Numbness in my face is completely gone and has been for a week or two. There is a tiny bit of reduced sensation in the left corner of my lip and in the centre of my chin. My gums still have fairly reduced sensation but it really doesn’t bother me.

My lips still feel a bit tight at times but smiling is getting easier by the day! My lips have been going into rest position without being forced for about 3 weeks now.

CONTINUING ORTHODONTICS

I have not seen my ortho yet for my second apt, but it is scheduled to be in about 2 weeks. I am expected to get my bottom surgical hooks removed, new wires, and chains to close the gaps.

The work that was done at 4-weeks has been successful and my open-bite on both sides of my mouth is completely gone.

I wear elastics 24/7, expect eating and brushing! These don’t bother me at all- I actually prefer having them in. As far as I am aware, braces are scheduled to come off anywhere between August 2017 and February 2018 but I am really not in any rush- I’ve put 5 years into braces already, so there’s no point in rushing the process now. I want my orthodontist to do the best work he possibly can.

That is really all I have for now! Below is a photo of my side profile. Before (left) and after (right). I’ll post another update again next time something significant happens!

17757329_10158440999535402_7495614770788285999_n

