Wow is it ever hard to believe that surgery was almost 6 weeks ago! The human body is absolutely amazing in its ability to heal. At this point, I am so glad I went through with this. The first week was incredibly difficult, and the second week not much better, but things improved so quickly from then on. So, I don’t update often, but plan to whenever significant things occur.

DIET

I have been eating for almost 2 weeks now. The first 2-3 days of chewing were tricky but I caught on fairly quick. It has gotten to be a less  tedious task, and although still requires my full attention, I’m pretty confident in my eating abilities.

My diet these days includes foods such as:

  • Pasta
  • Fish (salmon, haddock, scallops, etc)
  • Rice
  • Stir fry
  • Pancakes
  • Omelettes
  • Well-done vegetables (peas, baby carrots, spinach, broccoli, peppers)
  • Soft fruits (bananas, pears, blueberries)
  • Slow-cooked ribs
  • Potatoes
  • Soft foods for on-the-go like pudding, yogurt, protein shakes, etc

I seen my surgeon today for a quick follow-up and he told me things look fantastic and that I am healing faster than the average patient (teehee yay). He said I am good to start eating whatever I want, excluding a few things like almonds, apples, etc, and no big bites out of anything that isn’t soft (so no biting into a big sandwich like a normal human quite yet). Otherwise, unless eating a particular food causes me pain, I am to power through the somewhat uncomfortable feeling and chew it up. Sometimes people at this point get frustrated with how difficult chewing can be, but to me that is useless. The only way my body will learn how to chew again is by practicing, so practice I will!

PHYSICAL ACTIVITY/WEIGHT

I’m back to the world of working out YAY. It feels so great! I had lost somewhere between 15-20lbs, and most of that was muscle mass.

I’ve been to the gym about 5 times since he ok’d me 12 days ago. Two of those trips included full-body circuits to get my body used to moving again, one of those was a leg day, one a glute day, and today I managed to do back. I am still restricted from lifting very heavy weight, but I’m doing great considering what I went through not even 6 weeks ago. I credit this to my diet and keeping my calories/macronutrients on point since going back to soft foods. I have been tracking my diet with my phone to ensure I am getting plenty of intake each day, and although it’s difficult at times, I make it happen. Lots of fruits, veggies, protein, and supplemental shakes. Food is fuel, and I feel awesome! Time to bring the muscle back.

SWELLING, NUMBNESS, AND OTHER ANNOYING STUFF

Numbness is gone but the innermost part of my chin and left corner of my lip are tingly and quite annoying. My gums are about 50% back, I would say, but honestly it’s hard to tell. Swelling is mostly gone, although some persists in my cheeks. All is well though, and I’m excited see what my face looks like a few months from now when the swelling is gone! My TMJ (left) has been giving me hell since my feeling came back. I expected this, as I have always had issues with it. The hope is that this will improve, even slightly, with time now that my bite is corrected.

OTHER NOTES

  • My final measurements from surgery: Lower jaw advanced slightly over 9mm, upper jaw moved to the right slightly over 2mm, chin 4mm. That’s crazy to me.
  • I am totally in love with my new profile so far- no regret in that aspect.
  • I have been doing jaw exercises for about 2 weeks now- open wide, move side-to-side, and slide forward. I will do these until told otherwise. Continuing with my lip exercises (pucker and smile)
  • Smiling is getting easier although still looks forced
  • My energy is back at about 95%. Still some issues focussing some days.
  • No pain, but some discomfort. This is due to the elastics shifting things around, new wires, I clench my jaw, etc. Not surgery related.
  • Talking still sounds a bit funny but has improved sooooo much.
  • I see my ortho at the end of April and my surgeon in 2 weeks.

Photos: My first day back to the gym, a side-by-side of swelling at day 9 vs day 38, my go-to breakfast of scrambled eggs with bell peppers, spinach, onion, cheese, fruit, and coffee.

Until next time, folks!

 

