Hello all!

Not a whole lot has changed since my last update.

I’ve been trying to keep busy with schoolwork as there is no shortage of that for me to do lol. I’m starting to really get my energy back, and until I am able to head back to the gym, I’ve been keeping busy with simple things like walking, cleaning, window shopping, etc. I really hope I get the go-ahead to slowly start back at the gym at my upcoming appointment, which is this Wednesday the 15th. I have no expectations for the appointment but I think my healing seems to be going along well, and really hope I get the splint out and am put on a soft food diet. The weather for the week sounds terrible (snow storm) but I am scheduled to see my orthodontist the day after my surgeon, but he is 4 hours away so if it snows I doubt I will make it. I hope this won’t affect what the surgeon plans on doing.

My diet has not changed much since the last update, but here is what I have been eating (drinking) this past week:

  • smoothies
  •  milk and chocolate milk
  • blended chunky soups
  • blended stews
  • OhYeah nutritional drinks
  • GNC nutritional drinks
  • thinned baby food
  • blended seafood chowder
  • coffee, frappuccinos, lattes, etc
  • milkshakes
  • AND THIS WEEK I BLENDED A VERY EXPENSIVE PIECE OF CHEESECAKE WITH A BIT OF MILK AND I ALMOST DIED BECAUSE IT WAS SO GOOD

Getting pretty bored with the liquids and finding it very difficult to get full/keep enough food in me. I have officially lost 15 pounds and 11% of my body weight. It is likely mostly muscle mass, which frustrates me BUT looking forward to putting that muscle back on ASAP. I really can’t wait to expand my food horizons because 15lbs is more than I thought I would lose.

The swelling almost appears to be at a standstill right now- I feel as if during these next few months it is going to go down very slowly, and someday 6 months from now I will suddenly realize it is gone. Who knows haha.

The numbness continues to improve, although very slowly. This week I have noticed that my upper lip is improving as well as my left cheek! Chin remains the most numb.

I will update after I meet with my surgeon and hopefully my orthodontist!

Below are some pictures relevant to jaw surgery recovery: my beautiful almost daily green smoothie (banana, orange juice, spinach, milk, arbonne daily greens, arbonne fibre boost, arbonne vanilla protein mix, ice), blended vanilla fudge cheesecake with about 1/3 cup milk, my face at 21 days (smiling is getting easier every day!), and my pre-surgery weight vs my current weight.

