Inconvenience: 10/10

Nausea: 3/10

Pain: 5/10

I did it! I’m going to try and make as much sense as I can in this post buuuuut I’m pretty jacked up on morphine among all kinds of other drugs right now, so bare with me.

I arrived to the hospital around 9:30 this morning. They registered me, got me changed into my hospital gear, and then I waited! My parents arrived at the hospital around 11am, so it was really great that they made it before my surgery. At 12, a nurse came to get me, so I said goodbye to my parents and headed down to the OR. The anesthesiologist, my surgeon, his fellow, and a nurse all came by to chat with me before heading into the OR to let me know what exactly they were going to do once I was in there. Once I was in, the had one last little chat with me and to sleep I went.

I came to whenever they were rolling me into a room on my stretcher. I asked them if they could take the breathing tube out right away- it was incredibly uncomfortable and made me feel like I was going to gag. So, they took it out, and kept an eye on me until I was ready to go to my room  (about 20 minutes later).

I’m told the surgery went very well. The procedure itself took a bit over 2 hours and I was in recovery for about an hour and a half. I’m currently in my room with my parents, and managed to get a semi-private room instead of a standard ward room so I’m thankful for that.

The nurse wrapped ice around my head to help with swelling and pain,  gave me a suction thingy so I can keep blood and whatnot out of my mouth, and gave me an oxygen mask to help with breathing.

I did not expect to be in much pain after surgery due to the damage they would cause to my nerves, but I am in pain. I am not sensitive to physical pain and have a pretty good tolerance, but this hurts. Even after the nurse gave me all the morphine she could, along with advil and tylenol, I’m far from comfortable. Really hope this improves over the next few days!!

I am incredibly weak and dizzy- even adjusting my position in bed makes me super lightheaded. So,  I doubt I will make it out of the bed tonight. Hopefully tomorrow afternoon! Besides my liquid advil and tylenol, I’ve managed to use the syringe to get a little but of water into me. This is harder than I expected because of how numb my lips are.

 

Here and some photos from today!! Swelling isn’t too bad, but will get worse over the next few days.

 

 

